love the brown leaf days too

it made me smile that, whilst waiting for this picture to upload, the accompanying message said 'crunching...'!

it made me smile that, whilst waiting for this picture to upload, the accompanying message said 'crunching...'!

 
This is the picture my girls made with their dad after an afternoon’s leaf collecting. What fascinated me was that each of the leaves we picked up really stood out from the others around them at the time they were chosen – they were something special amongst the duller, browner leaves surrounding them. Yet, when they were all put together in this picture, some acted as the duller background themselves. It made me think about how we live in a world of relativity – how can we truly know happiness if we’ve never felt sad? How can we measure beauty without some implied aesthetic scale? If we lived in a world of infinite resources, fairly shared, would it mean anything to be described as ‘wealthy’?
 
So life is lived in a series of ups and downs, of days that stand out from the others like a glorious sunshine yellow leaf, and of the dull brown leaf days that serve to make that yellow leaf day so radiant. Wouldn’t it be great to always be aware of how our ‘ordinary’ brown-leaf days are part of a huge autumnal picture, our life as a whole, seen from a step backwards? And don’t they just make those other days shine?
 
What colour and texture leaf would your day be today? When was your latest yellow leaf day? Remember it in detail and make yourself smile!

4 Responses to love the brown leaf days too

  1. kaseybartley says:

    This reminds me of a scene from the musical “Into the Woods” by Stephen Soundheim. The Baker’s wife has just kissed the prince and when he leaves she sings, “Moments in the Woods.” Part of the lyrics say, “Oh if life were made of moment, even now and then a bad one… but if life were only moments then you’d never know you had one.” Later she says, “Just remembering you’ve had an ‘and’ when you’re back to ‘or’ makes the ‘or’ mean more than it did before.”
    I think a huge part of life is looking at moments that happen that make new moments possible or that make them mean something totally different.
    Isn’t it amazing what a pile of leaves can say when creative children touch them?

    • straightforwardcoaching says:

      Oooh thanks for that – I’ll have to look it up (I love musicals too, so that’ll be no hardship!) x

  2. I love your analogy of life as a collection of different colored leaves (that almost sounds like Dr. Suess’ book). I spent part of yesterday wandering the woods, collecting leaves that caught my eyes. I never knew there were so many shades of brown. I never really knew what brown meant until I took the time to appreciate its subtleties.

Leave a comment